Just Browsing

Always look on the bright side

Posted on: October 17, 2008

*warning=video does contain bad words (but it’s really funny!)

I’ll won’t go all sloppy on you. At least not entirely. But I will share some positives that I’m going to focus on instead all the junk I unloaded earlier.

*I do get to sit on a panel talking with future librarians tomorrow. Despite some things in the environment, I still like the work I actually do. (When I stay focused on that, things aren’t bad at all.) And it was nice to be asked to do something like this. I also had an email from a former classmate who is considering going into library science. I am passionate about what I do and enjoy talking about it with others.

*The weather is starting to feel like fall finally. It was fantastic to be able to enjoy all the colors starting to pop out as I was driving back yesterday. And I’m pulling out sweaters and long sleeve shirts finally. There’s nothing better, imo, than cozy, warm clothing. Except hot chocolate…wood fires…chilly moonlit nights…football games…Halloween… You get the idea. All great autumn related things.

*My first book review should have been published by now. I keep forgetting to go look in our newspapers for it. Whoops! There is another opportunity that I’m exploring involving writing reviews for historical fiction books. (It would entail free books. What a terrible thing. *laugh*)

*Next weekend is Homecoming at LittleU. Homecomings are so much fun. And it means football and the homecoming musical. Going to see if DH would be interested in hanging out in LittleUtown this week.

*Every time I go home, I’m reminded of how much I’m loved. Three dogs and DH certainly cheer me up. Thinking about the next time I’ll be there keeps me going through the weeks. Our house outside of BigUtown is a haven.

*I found a delicious hot chocolate I’d not heard of at the local grocery store. It’s a nice treat on these cooler evening. Rich and creamy! Except for coffee I don’t drink too many hot drinks during the warmer months. But in the fall and winter, I like hot tea, cider, and hot cocoa. Starbuck’s has a tasty caramel apple cider beverage that I just discovered today that I’m sure I’ll get again.

*Although I don’t have lots of time during the week, I am carving out time to cook. I discovered a couple of years ago that I really enjoy trying out new recipes and making old favorites. Now it’s even more interesting as I find good vegetarian recipes that DH might like as well. (I also enjoy cooking for him.) I’ve even figured out a way to still have tasty sandwiches for lunch without fake lunchmeat.

*It’s been wonderful to keep the tv off some nights. I’m using my imagination more and rediscovering a deeper love of words. I’ll probably soon start exploring our CD collection at the library for some new music. It’s nice to reacquaint yourself with things you once really enjoyed. Didn’t realize how much of a brain suck tv can be.

*Halloween is coming up. I’ll be working on the goodie bags next week for our students. Trying to decide if I want to do something for the staff and faculty here at the library. I’d like to, but I’m not sure what exactly. Maybe I’ll just bake some treats and bring them in that day. Still need to get the tulle for my ghost costume. That can wait until next weekend. It’s an easy-to-make costume and shouldn’t take much time to assemble.

There are many more good things. Just a sample. (And I feel better!)

Tags:

Leave a comment

Flickr Photos

RSS Tweet Tweet

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Upcoming

Mar. 10 - Photography Class

Mar. 11 - Quad Cities SnB

Mar. 12 - Lincoln Reenactor performance at BHE

Mar. 13 - Annual budget due

Mar. 14 - SnB trip to Galena

Mar. 16-21 - Spring Break

Mar. 16-18 - On the Front Lines library conference in Springfield

Mar. 19-22 - In Kansas

Mar. 23 - Orientation in Quad Cities

Mar. 24 - Photography Class

Mar. 26 - Spring Break for Academic Librarians workshop in Peoria

Mar. 27 - Supervisor Development in Quad Cities

Apr. 2 - Using Social Technologies in Library Instruction workshop

Apr. 6 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 6 - My birthday

Apr. 7 - Photography Class

Apr. 9-12 - In Kansas

Apr. 10 - College Closed

Apr. 12 - Easter

Apr. 13-19 - National Library Week

Apr. 13 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 14 - Photography Class

Apr. 16 - Evening Instruction Session

Apr. 17 - Information Literacy Summit

Apr. 18 - A Day of Books and Quilts at Toulon Public Library

Apr. 20 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 21 - Photography Class

Apr. 22 - Renegade Reference meeting in Bloomington

Apr. 23 - Illinois Library Day

Apr. 24 - Quarterly Supervisors Meeting

Apr. 27 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 28 - Photography Class

Apr. 29 - Supervisor Training in Quad Cities

May 5 - Photography Class

May 12 - National Library Legislative Day

May 25 - Memorial Day - College Closed

June 4 - RSA Users' Group meeting in Peoria

June 6 - SIL's birthday June 6 - Brother and SIL Anniversary

June 8 - Nancy Pearl at Bradley University

June 13 - WWKIP train trip to St. Louis

July 3 - Holiday - College Closed

July 4 - Independence Day

July 10 - Mom's Birthday

July 10-15 - ALA Annual Conference in Chicago

July 17-19 - Midwest Fiber & Folk Art Fair in Crystal Lake, IL

July 31 - 10th Anniversary

Sept. 7 - Labor Day, College closed

Oct. 6-9 - Illinois Library Association Annual Conference in Peoria

Nov. 23 - Brother's birthday

Nov. 26 - Thanksgiving Day, College closed

Nov. 27 - College Closed

Dec. 7 - MIL's birthday

Dec. 18 - DH's birthday

Dec. 25 - Christmas Day

Dec. 26 - Dad's birthday

Blog Stats

  • 11,286 hits