Just Browsing

The last day in my life

Posted on: July 18, 2008

That doesn’t sound right. I should say this is the last day I’m going the “day in a librarian life” for now. Still thinking about coming back to it in the fall when things are very different around here with instruction and whatnot.

Anyway, I worked the desk first thing this morning. But even before that, I was doing stuff to get ready to head home for the weekend. Fridays are probably my favorite day of the week, because by the evening I’m back with DH and the dogs. (You might wonder why I’m applying for the job in AK if I miss my family over a week. The answer is because this is a dream that can’t be passed up. We’ll figure it out if I actually get the job…and that’s a huge long shot.)

The rest of the day has been spent mostly at my desk. Still doing little things for the Summer Institute. A couple of last minute registrations have trickled in and one cancellation. I’ll need to do a couple of updates to the catering order next week to make sure we have enough drinks for everyone for the day. And there is a bit of supply shopping I’m going to do tomorrow. I keep feeling like I’m forgetting something major because this has went so smoothly.

There were a couple of other small things that I had to do today, but those were quickly taken care of. Mostly preliminary discussions/planning about some events for the fall. And I worked on my advance for an upcoming conference. Hopefully that will be waiting for me when I get back from vacation. It will help cover the hotel, so I don’t have so much initially out of pocket.

I’ve been doing some internal debate about attending Internet Librarian this fall. It’s a great conference, but it will more than blow the rest of my travel budget. At least Mountain Plains Library Association is in Kansas next year. But ACRL is in Seattle and that’s going to be an expensive one. It’s interesting to figure out how to stretch dollars until they scream. I think librarians have to do this with so many things – travel budgets, book budgets, electronic resource budgets.

Which reminds me that we’ll be starting some of those discussions early next month in Collection Development. Flat budgets and increasing costs do not equal happy librarians at all. But I work with good people and we’ll figure it out.

Even though I’m on vacation next week, I’ll probably do a bit of work from home. The main reason is because we do have a couple of things in the works and I don’t want to entirely lose momentum right now. And if I think of something that might work or have some brilliant flash of inspiration, I don’t want to forget it before I get back on July 28. Still I do intend to enjoy the in-laws visit and get some relaxing, knitting, and reading in.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

RSS Tweet Tweet

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
July 2008
M T W T F S S
    Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Upcoming

Mar. 10 - Photography Class

Mar. 11 - Quad Cities SnB

Mar. 12 - Lincoln Reenactor performance at BHE

Mar. 13 - Annual budget due

Mar. 14 - SnB trip to Galena

Mar. 16-21 - Spring Break

Mar. 16-18 - On the Front Lines library conference in Springfield

Mar. 19-22 - In Kansas

Mar. 23 - Orientation in Quad Cities

Mar. 24 - Photography Class

Mar. 26 - Spring Break for Academic Librarians workshop in Peoria

Mar. 27 - Supervisor Development in Quad Cities

Apr. 2 - Using Social Technologies in Library Instruction workshop

Apr. 6 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 6 - My birthday

Apr. 7 - Photography Class

Apr. 9-12 - In Kansas

Apr. 10 - College Closed

Apr. 12 - Easter

Apr. 13-19 - National Library Week

Apr. 13 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 14 - Photography Class

Apr. 16 - Evening Instruction Session

Apr. 17 - Information Literacy Summit

Apr. 18 - A Day of Books and Quilts at Toulon Public Library

Apr. 20 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 21 - Photography Class

Apr. 22 - Renegade Reference meeting in Bloomington

Apr. 23 - Illinois Library Day

Apr. 24 - Quarterly Supervisors Meeting

Apr. 27 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 28 - Photography Class

Apr. 29 - Supervisor Training in Quad Cities

May 5 - Photography Class

May 12 - National Library Legislative Day

May 25 - Memorial Day - College Closed

June 4 - RSA Users' Group meeting in Peoria

June 6 - SIL's birthday June 6 - Brother and SIL Anniversary

June 8 - Nancy Pearl at Bradley University

June 13 - WWKIP train trip to St. Louis

July 3 - Holiday - College Closed

July 4 - Independence Day

July 10 - Mom's Birthday

July 10-15 - ALA Annual Conference in Chicago

July 17-19 - Midwest Fiber & Folk Art Fair in Crystal Lake, IL

July 31 - 10th Anniversary

Sept. 7 - Labor Day, College closed

Oct. 6-9 - Illinois Library Association Annual Conference in Peoria

Nov. 23 - Brother's birthday

Nov. 26 - Thanksgiving Day, College closed

Nov. 27 - College Closed

Dec. 7 - MIL's birthday

Dec. 18 - DH's birthday

Dec. 25 - Christmas Day

Dec. 26 - Dad's birthday

Blog Stats

  • 10,641 hits
