Just Browsing

Say ahhhhh please

Posted on: October 15, 2008

Yesterday I went to the dentist. I don’t like going to the dentist because it always involves pain. Yes. Always. But I like eating with teeth, so I go. You spend an hour or so laying back in a chair, which on the surface sounds nice. But while you lay there, some masochistic people poke around at your sensitive gum tissue with sharp instruments while you drool and try to answer their questions with your mouth wide open. Yeah.

I had my plaque scaled with some ultrasonic torture instrument. When the hygienist first described what she was going to do, it sounded sort of interesting. Ultrasonic? Sure, sign me up. And then we’ll blast off to the moon in a supersonic space ship.

I must have forgot I was at the dentist and there was no way this would be a good thing. It just meant that not only was she poking around under my gum line, but she was doing it with an instrument that vibrated faster than the eye could see. It made me drool faster than the eye could see too.

You would think that would have been enough. Nope. Then I had to be humilated as she used that lovely hook of death to measure my gums. Three times on each side of every tooth. I was lucky it was a sturdy chair because I might have ended up digging my way through it to the floor with my heels and bum.

This was the fun visit though. Now I start the process of getting cavities filled, wisdom teeth pulled, and a crown replaced.

Did I mention I hate going to the dentist?

Tags:

2 Responses to "Say ahhhhh please"

Yuk. I have to go soon. Just, yuk!

Tee hee! That post made me laugh. I wasn’t laughing about your bad experience, mind you – just the way you told about it was really funny! I’m sorry that going to the dentist is so traumatic for you. Apparently, a lot of people share your problem. I’m one of those freaks that doesn’t mind it one bit. Hey – at least you have your humor to get you through, my friend.

Leave a comment

Flickr Photos

RSS Tweet Tweet

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Upcoming

Mar. 10 - Photography Class

Mar. 11 - Quad Cities SnB

Mar. 12 - Lincoln Reenactor performance at BHE

Mar. 13 - Annual budget due

Mar. 14 - SnB trip to Galena

Mar. 16-21 - Spring Break

Mar. 16-18 - On the Front Lines library conference in Springfield

Mar. 19-22 - In Kansas

Mar. 23 - Orientation in Quad Cities

Mar. 24 - Photography Class

Mar. 26 - Spring Break for Academic Librarians workshop in Peoria

Mar. 27 - Supervisor Development in Quad Cities

Apr. 2 - Using Social Technologies in Library Instruction workshop

Apr. 6 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 6 - My birthday

Apr. 7 - Photography Class

Apr. 9-12 - In Kansas

Apr. 10 - College Closed

Apr. 12 - Easter

Apr. 13-19 - National Library Week

Apr. 13 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 14 - Photography Class

Apr. 16 - Evening Instruction Session

Apr. 17 - Information Literacy Summit

Apr. 18 - A Day of Books and Quilts at Toulon Public Library

Apr. 20 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 21 - Photography Class

Apr. 22 - Renegade Reference meeting in Bloomington

Apr. 23 - Illinois Library Day

Apr. 24 - Quarterly Supervisors Meeting

Apr. 27 - Weight Watchers

Apr. 28 - Photography Class

Apr. 29 - Supervisor Training in Quad Cities

May 5 - Photography Class

May 12 - National Library Legislative Day

May 25 - Memorial Day - College Closed

June 4 - RSA Users' Group meeting in Peoria

June 6 - SIL's birthday June 6 - Brother and SIL Anniversary

June 8 - Nancy Pearl at Bradley University

June 13 - WWKIP train trip to St. Louis

July 3 - Holiday - College Closed

July 4 - Independence Day

July 10 - Mom's Birthday

July 10-15 - ALA Annual Conference in Chicago

July 17-19 - Midwest Fiber & Folk Art Fair in Crystal Lake, IL

July 31 - 10th Anniversary

Sept. 7 - Labor Day, College closed

Oct. 6-9 - Illinois Library Association Annual Conference in Peoria

Nov. 23 - Brother's birthday

Nov. 26 - Thanksgiving Day, College closed

Nov. 27 - College Closed

Dec. 7 - MIL's birthday

Dec. 18 - DH's birthday

Dec. 25 - Christmas Day

Dec. 26 - Dad's birthday

Blog Stats

  • 11,274 hits